Miracles!

I create and maintain the website for our church, Messiah Lutheran. I’m constantly trying to find material to use on the site. I’d like to “zhoozh” it up. So, yesterday, I was hunting around for something to go into the Bible Studies page, which I had just added so the members can prepare for the classes. The theme for the next six weeks is, “The Unexplained:  Miracles, Mysteries, and More”. So, I figured a nice picture of a “miracle” would be super. After doing some surfing, and making a request to use a proprietary image, I decided I could make my own image. DUH!

So, off to the hunt in my pictures. I have a LOT, btw. I need to do another clean-out, and put most of them to a flash drive. (My poor ‘puter! I’ve filled the 1TB HD once, already, and had to delete a bunch of stuff off it. I now have a 1TB external HD that is almost filled with scrapbooking stuff, and many pictures on a 5TB external. Can you say, “hoarder”??? LOL) Any way…

For a digital photography class in college, I needed a landscape picture. I happened to be driving by a ditch full of pampas grass, and, the sun was setting. Opportunity knocked! With my faithful little Canon PowerShot A710 IS, I got a couple shots of the pampas grass with the sunset behind it. However, none of them really presented the mood I wanted. Sooooo… I took off my polarized sunglasses, lined up a lens over the camera lens, and took a couple shots. Voila! (YES! That DOES work! Give it a try. In a pinch, if you don’t have a polarized lens filter, your polarized sunglasses may give you the same effect!) Don’t you love creativity??? LOL

Now, to make this long story short, I took the best image of the “Pampas Grass Sunset”, and made this for the website.

miracles_happen

Granted, the image isn’t as sharp as it could, or should, be, but, I like it nonetheless. To me, it looks like a miracle, and that was my intent for the site. My small inspiration gave me a pretty shot, and now that will be seen on the church website. (Free advertising!)

Hope you enjoyed this little “tutorial”. Go! Shoot!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

