It’s weed season

And, boy, are they popping up! We were taking a walk in the field the other day, checking things out, and I came across one of our “famous” “mutant dandelion. This is the only place I’ve ever seen them. Needless to say, they are a bit odd looking. And, they are HUGE compared to normal dandelions.

In June of 2010, we were taking a trip to Grand Island, Nebraska. We chose to do it in June because the weather was not too hot to have JAG in the vehicle while we were exploring. And, because the crops were not ready to pick, yet.

All, that is, except for the asparagus. So, that is what I was doing the morning we left. While out there, working like a slave (I’m thinking that you will eventually understand that I do not like to garden – at least not on the scale Lloyd chooses to do it.), I spied a couple dandelions that were HUGE! I was, I admit, a bit startled, and stood there staring at them for several seconds. Then, I couldn’t resist. I needed to take pictures of them.

Seeing as how I was already running a bit late, I chose to pick them, take them to the house, and then take the pictures. After all, who needs more dandelions self-propogating all over the place?

When I took the pictures, I decided that I needed something beside them to compare sizes, so, I used my hand and finger. I have, I would say, normal-sized hands for my average size of 5’3″.

And, of course, I had to scrap those pictures. While doing so, I wanted to add something about those mutated monsters, so did a Google search, and found this article. Interesting!

Any way, here is the layout I created for the mutants.

dandelion

HUGE, right? Not to mention, funky looking. Like I said, I’d never seen one before that day, and now, I found another. That one wasn’t quite as large as these two, but, it’s funky looking, and BIG.

Isn’t Mother Nature amazing!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

